Search

Special Education

Dr. Becca Reid, Special Education Coordinator

Dr Becca Reid

Email: becca.reid@apsva.us

Ms. Brittany Oman, Teacher

Ms. Oman

I have been working on the Special Education team at ASFS since 2015. I obtained my bachelors degree from Syracuse University and my masters degree from the University of Virginia. I achieved my National Board Teaching Certification in 2021 and was honored as the Arlington Public Schools Elementary Teacher of the Year in 2022. As an educator, I have a strong passion for teaching social emotional learning and supporting all students with unique abilities!

Email: brittany.oman@apsva.us

Ms. Abby Tolkan, Teacher

Ms. Tolkan

I have been working at ASFS on the special education team since 2010. I obtained my bachelor’s and master’s degrees from James Madison University. I achieved National Board Certification in 2017 and Maintenance of National Board Certification in 2022 in the area of Exceptional Needs. I am passionate about differentiated learning in co-taught settings and alternate curriculums that support students with diverse abilities!

Email: abby.tolkan@apsva.us

Ms. Becca Strong, Teacher

Ms. Strong

My name is Ms. Strong. I began teaching in 2008. I am originally from North Carolina. I went to Elon University earning a bachelor of arts degree in Elementary Education and Psychology. A few years later I went to George Washington University earning a masters degree in Special Education. Before starting my family, I was an adjunct professor at GW teaching evening and summer courses in reading and math curriculum. I have two sons, Owen and Parker. I enjoy reading, bike rides, and walks. Teaching is a true passion of mine and I can’t imagine doing anything else.

Email: becca.strong@apsva.us

Ms. Melissa Idell, Teacher

Ms. Idell

Email: melissa.idell@apsva.us

Ms. Rachael Roberts, Teacher

Ms. Roberts

Email: rachael.roberts@apsva.us

Ms. Jessica Gigantino, Teacher

Ms. Gigantino

Email: jessica.gigantino@apsva.us

Ms. Hope Flynn, Teacher

Coming Soon

Email: hope.flynn@apsva.us

Ms. Janis James, Instructional/Special Assistant

Ms. James

Hello! My Name is Ms. Janis James I am currently a SPED assistant at ASF. I have been with ASF for six years. It has been a wonderful experience getting to know the students, parents, and staff. I started out in the extended day program and assisting students at lunch time. Though I am no stranger to service as I was a Nursing assistant for seven years, before I joined the school. I took classes at Nova and still am pursuing a degree. The best part of my life is becoming a grandmother. It gives me joy to know I am shaping lives by helping young people to be all that they can be. No act is too small or big when it comes to helping children to grow. I love to encourage, and I value each student I work with. I am looking forward to a great school year working with the students, parents and staff at ASF.

Email: janis.james@apsva.us

Ms. Vanessa de Leon, Instructional/Special Assistant

Ms. De Leon

Email: vanessa.deleon@apsva.us

Ms. Filiz Deniz Yurt, Instructional/Special Assistant

Ms. Feliz Deniz Yurt

Email: filiz.denizyurt@apsva.us